The Written Word

Little did I know, as I walked into Eileen Casey’s Creative Writing class in September 2008, the world it would open – the Narnia of my childhood resurrected . . .

From the age of seven I’ve always been an avid reader.  Then, the libraries of my home and my grandmother’s, from North and South of the Liffey, were scavenged to reap the finest rewards.  The little bookcase above my bed, filled to capacity with birthday and Christmas presents, mainly Enid Blyton, in those early days.  Now, a bookcase in the family room sits three-deep along with an eReader I swore I would never buy.

I love books too much, I thought, but, it appears, I love the written word, in any shape or form, even more! 

I’d be very interested in your feelings on the eReader versus the book – if you have the time to comment . . .

I would be lying if I did not admit to missing the look, the feel and the smell of a book with my eReader, but, on the other hand, I can read six books while on holidays without having to extract a couple of pairs of shoes from my luggage to squeeze them in!  I can pick up the classics for free and borrow from the local library without leaving my house – and without incurring a fine when I fail to bring books back on time – they just magically return to the virtual world of the library, ready-and-waiting for their next reader.

And if I thought I’d captured the written word in all of its entirety I was wrong!

Hearing the written word, read aloud, preferably by its writer, really brings the world their words create to life.

I had the pleasure of being one of the many writers involved with the Tallaght Library Readings, facilitated by Eileen Casey, which ran from Monday, 5 December to Monday 19 December.

With Readings of poetry and prose from so many diverse writers; David Mohan, Louise Phillips, Brian Kirk, Mary Guckian, Mervyn Ennis, Doreen Duffy, Michael Whelan, Kate Dempsey and Eileen Casey herself, it was always going to be a success.  The fact that The Echo is currently profiling each of these writers has made it even more special; you can find out more about each writer and read a little of their work here.

I wish you a Merry Christmas and hope you have an opportunity to take a break, in this madly busy season, to enjoy WORDS, in every shape and form . . .

About Susan Condon

Irish Writer and Poet. Award winning, published short story writer.

Posted on December 20, 2011, in Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Nice post, Sue. I’m looking forward to getting my new Kindle. But I’ve ordered the red leather cover to make it feel more like a book. Of course, then I had to have the one with the built-in light:)

    Like

    • Now that’s wierd Valerie – I bought the Sony eReader and, same as you, HAD to get the cover – with the built-in light! I always was into gadgets with all the bells and whistles I could find – nice to see I’m not the only one . . .

      Like

  2. I deffo think the eReader for hols, although I still haven’t got one as yet! I think all writers fall in love with the written word when very young, a lightbulb goes off in the brain, and hopefully it stays on for a very long time. I too had my writing world opened up to me via the brilliant Eileen Casey, and I will be forever grateful to her for that. A great post Sue, and well done to yourself for a brilliant library reading. May there be many more of them:)

    Like

Leave a Reply

